top of page
  • holistnik

Why You Should Strength Train During Pregnancy

A lot of women still fear strength training/working out in general during pregnancy because of the chances of miscarriages... but research says otherwise. Did you know that strength training during pregnancy helps to:


- reduce the risk of back pain, incontinence, and pelvic pain

- build and maintain muscle the safest way possible

- prevention or improvement of depression/anxiety

- decrease your risk of preeclampsia & gestational diabetes

- decrease your postpartum recovery time

- reduce your risk of preterm birth and potentially, your risk for a C-section, which typically has a longer recovery than vaginal birth

- physically prepare yourself for the biggest workout of your life 🏋🏻‍♀️🤰🏻


I trained throughout my entire pregnancy (including running a 10km race) and even ran on the treadmill the day before I went into labour! My contractions were long (over 24 hours) but I only pushed for 40 mins which didn't feel that long now that I look back on it!


If you're looking for a coach, send me an email and let's get started! Virtual and in-person training options are both available!


For my mamas, did you train during pregnancy?


1 view0 comments
bottom of page